Asset Publisher

Return to Full Page

Alzahra University at a Glance


Founded in 1964 as "Girls' College", Alzahra University is a one of the prominent institutions of higher education in Iran dedicated to educating learned and lively women. Although limited to the few majors of Translation Studies, Psychology, Secretarial Studies, and Housewifery during its early years of establishment, Girls' College gradually grew and in 1975 was officially expanded into a university with four independent faculties of Humanities and Literature, Management, Economics, and Sciences. After the Islamic Revolution in Iran, it was renamed Alzahra University and continued to flourish in an enterprising and progressive spirit.

During the past 40 years, the university has tremendously changed and developed and is now offering various degree programs at undergraduate and graduate levels. Since 2013, educational and research services have been provided by the university's 10 faculties viz Literature, Theology, Physical Education and Sport Sciences, Social Sciences and Economics, Education and Psychology, Mathematical Sciences, Biology, Engineering, Physics and Chemistry, and Arts. The two research centers of Women Studies and Economic Studies are also focused on doing cutting-edge research and educating researchers of the future. Alzahra's second campus has been recently founded in the scenic city of Urmia.

There are currently around 10000 students studying 160 majors at the university. More than 380 full-time faculty members are also working in 49 departments which offer degree programs at bachelor's, master's and PhD levels. Of all the faculty members, 50% are assistant professors, 35% associate professors and 15% full professors.